“Yet another mini triumph for The Wardrobe Theatre, who seem hardwired to find and reveal risk-taking artists in this wonderfully creative city.” – Stagetalk Magazine

We believe there is nothing like live performance. We are excited by shows that amuse, move and thrill you and which celebrate the unique feeling of sharing an intimate room and a live experience with 100 other people. We feel just as passionately today as we did when we started this adventure in 2011 and more than ever we are on a mission to make live theatre something that everyone feels welcome to, part of and excited by. A thriving and vital arts hub run by a passionate group of Bristol theatre-makers, we do things differently at The Wardrobe Theatre – come and see for yourself!

The focus of The Wardrobe Theatre is…

  • To programme exciting, diverse events and not be afraid to take risks
  • To support up-and-coming companies in the region
  • To remain accessible and affordable for audiences

For general theatre enquires – info@thewardrobetheatre.com

If you would like to bring your show to The Wardrobe Theatre, visit the Get Involved page for details or email – programming@thewardrobetheatre.com


Co-Director: Jesse Meadowsjesse@thewardrobetheatre.com
Co-Director: Matthew Whittlematthew@thewardrobetheatre.com
Co-Director: Chris Collierchris@thewardrobetheatre.com
Marketing Officer: Stephanie Kempsonsteph@thewardrobetheatre.com
Volunteer Co-Ordinator: Aisha Alitickets@thewardrobetheatre.com
Assistant Producer: Morgan Matthews
Co-Founder: Jesse Jones

Wardrobe Theatre Originals

Throughout the year, The Wardrobe Theatre creates and co-produces brand new productions with some of Bristol’s most exciting and talented theatre-makers. Click on each image below for full production details.

Current Productions:

time-seekers-poster web ss-flyer-front http://thewardrobetheatre.com/livetheatre/closer-each-day-the-improvised-soap-opera/ smoking-puppet-cabaret-tent-logo portrait

Previous Productions:

rocky-flyer-front mw-final-bare muppits-die-hard-poster 7d-poster wildbore_poster oib-flyer-front home-alonely-image-final

Special thanks to all our donors during our 2015 relocation:

Aisha Ali, Eric Bakker, Nick Benson, Chris Bianchi, Tessa Bide, LD Bishop, Simon Bishop, Adam Blake, Rev. Nev Boundy, Helen K Bradley, Wendy Brandl, Harriet Brennan, James Brennan, Brick Door Theatre Company, Bristol Pride Festival, Elliot Brooks, Becky Brunning, Paula Cannings, Roberta Carradine, Tamsin Clarke, Sally Collister, Shosh Copley, James Coveney, Jerry Cowhig, Joan Cox, Kirsty Cox, Brian Coyle, Charlotte Crofts, Richard Cronin, Lara & Alex Davis, Anna Demming, Jenny & Janie Digby-Lee, Lisa Drake, Lily Drewry, Jenny Etches, Will Ferris, Bella Fortune, Sophie Freeman, Susie Fugle, Adam Fuller, The G1s, Amanda Gardham, Maximilian Gavin-Ellis, Deborah & Honey George, Theo Giann, Giannokpaul, Jean Goubert & Jannah Warlow, Grandparents Grant, Marcus Grant, Genevieve Hall, Jacqueline Ham, Debbie Hard, Claire Harding, Meryt & Peter Harding, Valerie & Alan Harding, Jonathan & Claire Harper, Robert Havard, Geraldine Hill-Male, HUF, Simon Inch, Randal Jack, Josephine Joy, Jody Kamali, Katina, Emma Keaveney-Roys, Andrew Kelly, Ann & Mike Kelly, Stephanie Kempson, Jason King, Alison Kingston, Marietta Kirkbride, Lauren Kriwald, Esther Lawrence, Matthew Lister, Maureen Lennon, Bertrand Lesca, Rachel Linley-Shaw, Slavka Liskova, David Lockwood, Emma London, Eva Manning-Davies, Adrian Mantle, Zoe McAden, Martin McDonaugh, Ian & Sue McKay, Kate McStraw, Matthew Meadows, Nancy Medina, Vicky Miller, Jude Merrill, The Middletons, Andy Mullett, Dr Philip J Naylor, Wendy Newton, Simon Panrucker, Martin Potts, Joseph & Hazel R, Claire Rhodes, Elizabeth Roberts , Ali Robertson, Steve Roser, Ruth & Guy, Jack Sanderson-Thwaite, Anna Scott, Harry Sedman, Emma Shaw, Christina Shewell, Silly Boys, Hannah Smith, Emilio Soldani, Chris Speller, Holly Stone , Substance & Shadow Theatre, Christopher Swain, Ben Tansey, Gwen Thomspon, Rob Thumpston, Alistair Todd, Travelling Light Theatre, Univeristy of The West of England, Sam Valentine, Vicky & Marcus, Ed Viney, Ruth Wallace, Rod Wassall, Andrew Waterer, Chloe Whipple, Peter Whittle, Katy Wilkes, Yvonne Wilkin, Heather Williams, Rachel York, and Johanna Ziegler.

Special thanks during our move to Old Market:

Chris Askew, Anita Assadullah, John Bradley, Tom Brennan, Rachel Buchanan, Jim Brown, Lori Campbell, Megan Clark-Bagnell, Hazel Collier, Steve Collier, Liesel Corp, Jay Costello, Miranda Cromwell, Andrew Cross, Rosemary Cross, Simon Day, Lottie Donovan, Jack Drewry, Ann Finch, Adam Fuller, Arthur Girling, Laurie Girling, Madeleine Girling, Ben Goodman, Marcus Grant, Matt Graham, Emily Greenslade, Russell Hancock, Anna Harpin, Paul Harrison, Ellen Havard, Steve Hawes, Felix Hayes, Andy Hazell, Margaret Hickman, Harry Humberstone, Simon Inch, Rachel Isaacs, Jesse Jones, Emma Keaveney-Roys, Katie Keeler, Andy Kelly, Hal Kelly, Stephanie Kempson, James Kent, Jason King, Andrew Kingston, Alice Lamb, Matthew Lister, David Lockwood, Josh Lucas, Vicky Meadows, Meghan McKay, James Newton, Jack Offord, Natalie Parsons, Ed Patrick, Darren Perry, Holly Pigott, Lewis Prescott, Dave Ravenscroft, Ali Robertson, Ruby Spencer, Laurie Stansfield, Philippa Thomas, Rob Thumpston, Marion, Tucker, Mark Tucker, Sean Warman, Owen Wassell, Ellen Wilkinson, Harvey Williams, Bob Yates-Tily and all those who contributed during our fundraising events.

Special thanks during our formative season:

Tom Brennan, Harriet de Winton, Emily Greenslade, James Newton and all at The White Bear and Tobacco Factory Theatres.